Satechi vs. Smart Passport Holder
Less than half as thick as Satechi's FindAll Passport Cover, and priced lower for EU shoppers — while using the exact same Apple Find My network.
Last updated: October 2026

Smart Passport Holder
€59.95
8mm slim, Apple Find My built in, and shows up in the same Find My app you already check for your iPhone.
Shop now →Satechi FindAll Passport Cover
Also a genuine Apple Find My accessory — thicker at 17mm, but with RFID blocking and MagSafe attachment built in.
This isn't the usual tracker-brand comparison. Satechi's FindAll Passport Cover isn't on a separate network the way Tile or Chipolo's own trackers are — it's a genuine Apple Find My accessory, registered in the exact same Find My app as the Smart Passport Holder, your iPhone and your AirPods. So the choice here isn't "which network do I trust," it's a straightforward product comparison: thickness, material, card capacity, RFID protection, MagSafe attachment, battery, and price.
That makes this page more of a spec-sheet comparison than an ecosystem one, and we've tried to be equally honest about both sides of it: Satechi publishes some numbers — battery life, warranty length, RFID blocking — that Seekerity doesn't publish for this product, and we say so plainly below rather than leaving those fields blank and hoping nobody notices. Where Satechi has a real, stated advantage, it's named as one.
Both run on Apple's Find My network — so what's actually different?
Because both products register as Find My accessories, both show up on the same map, use the same "Notify When Left Behind" alert, and rely on the same crowd-sourced network of nearby Apple devices to relay a location when your own iPhone isn't close by. Neither needs a separate app, a subscription, or a second account — that part of the comparison is a tie, and it's worth saying so rather than inventing a network argument where none exists.
What's actually different is the physical product wrapped around that same tracking technology: how thick it is, what it's made from, how many cards it holds, whether it blocks RFID skimming, whether it attaches to your phone with MagSafe, and what each company tells you about the battery and the warranty. Those are the categories this page actually compares.
Why compare against Satechi specifically?
Most "AirTag passport holder" searches turn up generic sleeves with a loose pocket for a separate, standalone AirTag — the same bolt-on approach already covered honestly elsewhere on this site for wallets and cardholders. Satechi is a genuinely different case: it's a well-established maker of Apple-first accessories (chargers, docks, hubs and MagSafe gear sold alongside Apple's own products in many retailers), and its FindAll Passport Cover is a real, purpose-built Find My accessory rather than a sleeve with room for an AirTag stuffed in. That's what makes it a fair comparison for the Smart Passport Holder, rather than the usual "built-in vs. separate tracker" argument — both products here start from the same premise of tracking built directly into the cover.
That also means this comparison can stay narrowly about the product itself: construction, capacity, stated features and price, rather than re-litigating whether a built-in tracker beats a loose AirTag in a pocket, which is a different and already-settled question for a different kind of competitor.
Thickness and weight — the biggest practical difference
Satechi's own published dimensions put the FindAll Passport Cover at 10.6 x 1.7 x 14.3cm and 104 grams. The 1.7cm (17mm) figure is the one that matters most day to day — that's the cover's thickness, and it's noticeably more than a slim passport sleeve. One independent review of the product specifically noted it's "not thin enough for jeans pockets," though it fits comfortably in a jacket, backpack or tote bag — useful context for anyone picturing it in a trouser pocket at airport security.
The Smart Passport Holder's published dimensions are 140 x 103 x 8mm — meaning at 8mm, it's less than half the thickness of Satechi's cover. Seekerity doesn't publish a weight figure for it, so we can't give you an exact gram-for-gram comparison, but a cover built around roughly half the thickness, in PU rather than Satechi's heavier vegan-leather-over-rigid-shell construction, is a reasonable bet to also be lighter — we just can't state that as a confirmed number the way we can the thickness.
RFID blocking — a genuine Satechi advantage
This is one of the clearest places Satechi has a real, stated edge: the FindAll Passport Cover includes RFID blocking, designed to shield the contactless chips in your passport and cards from unauthorised scanning. Seekerity's product listing for the Smart Passport Holder doesn't mention RFID blocking at all, and we're not going to imply it has a feature its own spec sheet doesn't claim. If RFID protection specifically is something you want in a passport cover, that's a point in Satechi's favour, plainly.
Worth a balanced note on how much this matters in practice: modern e-passports already include their own built-in protections against unauthorised remote reading (most require the passport to be opened and the machine-readable zone scanned first, which limits a lot of the skimming risk a sleeve is meant to guard against), and the real-world incidence of RFID-based passport theft is rare enough that opinions vary on how necessary a dedicated blocking layer actually is. We're not taking a side on that debate here — just flagging that it's a genuine feature difference, not a marketing wash.
MagSafe attachment — what it's for, and whether it matters for a passport
Satechi's cover is MagSafe-compatible, meaning it can snap onto the magnetic ring on the back of an iPhone 12 or later the same way a MagSafe wallet does. The Smart Passport Holder doesn't advertise MagSafe compatibility. It's fair to call this a genuine Satechi feature Seekerity's holder doesn't match.
It's also fair to ask how often you'd actually use it. A MagSafe wallet makes sense because people already keep a few cards within reach all day; a full passport cover — thicker, heavier, and holding a document you mostly need only at check-in and border control — is a different use case, and attaching it to the back of your phone for a flight means carrying a noticeably bulkier phone for the trip rather than a slimmer one. It's a real capability, but whether it's a reason to buy one cover over the other depends on whether you'd genuinely use your phone MagSafe-attached to your passport, versus just wanting your passport trackable in a bag or jacket pocket — which neither cover needs MagSafe for.
Card capacity, material and finish
Satechi's cover holds four card slots plus the passport itself, with room for a boarding pass behind the cards — one more card slot than the Smart Passport Holder's three cards (also alongside the passport, boarding pass and cash). If you specifically carry four or more cards while travelling, that extra slot is a real, usable difference in Satechi's favour.
On material, Satechi describes its cover as vegan leather; Seekerity lists the Smart Passport Holder's material simply as PU. It's worth being precise here rather than letting the different wording imply a bigger gap than exists: "vegan leather" and "PU leather" are generally the same broad category of synthetic, non-animal material — brands differ mainly in how they market the same underlying material class, not necessarily in the material itself. One independent review did note that Satechi's specific vegan-leather construction felt stiff enough that inserting and removing cards was "a bit of a struggle" on a review unit, with the expectation that it would ease with use — a specific, sourced data point worth knowing rather than assuming either material is automatically better broken-in.
Care is similar for both, since both are synthetic-leather-over-electronics builds rather than genuine hide: a dry or barely damp cloth for the exterior, avoiding prolonged direct heat such as a car dashboard or direct sun on a beach bag, and not overstuffing beyond the stated card capacity, which stresses the stitching and the internal electronics on either cover over time. Neither is advertised as waterproof, so treat either one the way you'd treat any slim travel wallet rather than exposing it deliberately to water.
Battery, charging and the numbers each brand actually publishes
Both covers charge wirelessly and have no cable port — in that respect they're identical. The numbers behind them differ in what's actually disclosed. Satechi states a 150mAh lithium battery, Bluetooth 5.2, and a specific real-world figure: up to five months of use on a single charge, with an internal button and LED that shows charge status since there's no companion display. Seekerity publishes a 100mAh battery figure for the Smart Passport Holder but doesn't state a specific number of weeks or months of standby time, nor a Bluetooth version.
That's a real, worth-naming gap: Satechi gives you a concrete number to plan around before a trip; Seekerity's spec sheet doesn't, which means the honest advice for the Smart Passport Holder is to simply top it up on a wireless charger whenever you charge your phone before travelling, rather than relying on a stated multi-month figure the way you could with Satechi's. Satechi's larger 150mAh cell against Seekerity's 100mAh is also consistent with — though not proof of — that longer stated runtime.
Satechi also specifies Qi2 support alongside standard Qi, while Seekerity's listing only states "wireless charging" without naming a standard. Qi2 adds magnetic alignment (similar in principle to MagSafe) so the cover snaps into place on a compatible charger rather than needing to be positioned by eye, plus somewhat faster charging speeds than first-generation Qi on supported chargers. In practice, any Qi charger — including the one most people already use for their phone — will charge either cover; Qi2's main real-world benefit is the alignment convenience on a Qi2-certified pad specifically, not a charging capability the other cover lacks entirely.
On the airport-security side, neither battery raises a real concern: both are small, sealed, rechargeable cells (100mAh and 150mAh) rather than the removable lithium-metal coin cells that prompted the FAA's specific 2022 clarification for trackers like AirTag. At these capacities, both fall far under the 100Wh carry-on allowance every major airline uses for spare lithium-ion batteries — and since you need your passport in hand at security and passport control regardless, carrying either cover in a pocket or carry-on rather than checked luggage happens naturally. The Travel collection on this site covers the lithium-battery rules in more depth for anyone who wants the full breakdown.
Setting up each cover: what actually happens
Because both are genuine Find My accessories, setup is identical in principle for either one, and it's the same flow Apple built for AirTag: bring the cover near an iPhone running a reasonably current iOS, and a setup card rises from the bottom of the screen automatically — the same prompt you'd see pairing new AirPods. Tap to connect, give it a name, and it appears in the Items tab of the Find My app within seconds, for either product. Neither requires a separate app, account, or sign-up beyond the Apple ID already on your phone.
From there, both behave identically inside Find My: each shows up on the same map as your other devices, can be renamed or removed at any time, and is tied to your Apple ID rather than one specific iPhone — hand either cover to a partner or family member with their own Apple ID, and they'll need to set it up fresh under theirs. The one setup step worth doing immediately on either product is turning on "Notify When Left Behind" from the item's own page in Find My, which is what actually sends a push alert if you walk away without it, rather than something you have to remember to check manually.
Precision Finding — neither cover has it
Neither product includes Apple's U1/U2 Ultra Wideband chip, so neither gives you the walking-direction arrow that a standalone AirTag offers once you're close by. An independent review of Satechi's cover confirms this directly, noting Precision Find is exclusive to Apple's own accessories. Both covers rely on the same fallback: the last-known-location map to get you to the right room or bag, and a sound you can trigger from the Find My app to find it by ear from there. For an item that's usually in a bag, a safe or a jacket pocket rather than lost somewhere large, that's a reasonable trade either way — just not a point of difference between the two.
Privacy and anti-stalking: how both compare
Because both covers are genuine Find My accessories, both are covered by exactly the same protection Apple built into iOS for the whole network, not something either brand added independently. If an iPhone detects an unfamiliar Find My accessory — one not paired to that phone's own Apple ID — travelling with it over time and away from its owner, iOS proactively surfaces an alert (something like "[Item] Found Moving With You") along with the option to play a sound and instructions for locating and disabling it. That applies identically whether the accessory in question is a Smart Passport Holder, a Satechi cover, an AirTag, or anything else registered on the network.
That protection isn't limited to Apple devices either. In May 2024, Apple and Google jointly published a shared industry specification for detecting unwanted location trackers, so Android users — who can't see Apple's Find My app at all — still get a native alert through Android's own unknown-tracker detection, or by scanning manually with Apple's free Tracker Detect app, if an unfamiliar Find My accessory appears to be travelling with them. Since this is a network-level protection rather than a brand-specific feature, it's genuinely a tie between the two covers compared here — neither Seekerity nor Satechi had to build this themselves, and neither one does it better than the other.
Three travel situations where the difference actually shows up
Fitting a passport cover into a jacket's inside pocket at the gate. An 8mm cover sits close to flat; Satechi's 17mm cover is roughly twice as thick, which is the kind of difference you notice every time you reach for it, not just once. For anyone who specifically wants their passport accessible in a coat pocket rather than a bag, the Smart Passport Holder's thinner profile is the more comfortable everyday carry of the two.
Wanting your phone and passport physically attached through security. If you specifically like the idea of your passport cover snapping onto the back of your iPhone via MagSafe — one object instead of two to keep track of at the gate — Satechi's cover does this and the Smart Passport Holder doesn't. The trade-off is a noticeably bulkier phone for as long as it's attached, which not everyone wants, but for someone who already carries a MagSafe wallet attached to their phone daily, it's a genuinely convenient option Seekerity's holder doesn't offer.
Carrying a fourth card you don't want to leave behind. If your travel kit regularly includes four cards (say, a debit card, a credit card, an ID card and a transit card) rather than three, Satechi's extra slot avoids having to leave one in a separate wallet. For three cards or fewer, the Smart Passport Holder's capacity is already enough, and its slimmer build means less bulk for the same job.
Price — what you'd actually pay
The Smart Passport Holder is €59.95, a single fixed price. Satechi's official US list price is $59.99 — close to the same number, different currency. For EU buyers specifically, the figure that matters more is what EU retailers actually charge: at one Dutch retailer (Proshop.nl) we checked directly, Satechi's cover lists at €71.58 including VAT (€59.16 excluding VAT) — noticeably higher than Seekerity's €59.95 once EU VAT and retailer pricing are factored in, though pricing varies by retailer and country and is always worth checking at the time you buy.
Colour availability differs too: Satechi's listing at the EU retailer we checked offers Black only, while US listings show additional colours such as Desert Rose — worth checking current availability in your own country before assuming a colour choice either way, since the Smart Passport Holder is also currently available in Black only.
Smart Passport Holder vs. Satechi FindAll Passport Cover: side by side
| Seekerity | Satechi | |
|---|---|---|
| Network | Apple Find My | Apple Find My |
| Thickness | 8mm | 17mm |
| Dimensions | 140 x 103 x 8mm | 106 x 17 x 143mm |
| Weight | Not published | 104g |
| Material | PU | Vegan leather |
| Card capacity | 3 cards + boarding pass + cash | 4 cards + boarding pass |
| RFID blocking | Not stated | Yes |
| MagSafe attachment | Not stated | Yes |
| Battery | 100mAh, standby time not published | 150mAh, up to ~5 months per charge |
| Charging | Wireless (Qi) | Wireless (Qi/Qi2) |
| Precision Finding (UWB) | No | No |
| Colours | Black | Black (EU); additional colours reported in the US |
| Price | €59.95 | $59.99 US MSRP; €71.58 incl. VAT at one EU retailer checked |
Specs are based on Satechi's own published listing and one independent review, cross-checked against one EU retailer's current pricing at time of writing. Figures can change — always check the current listing before buying.
Who is this for?
- Want the slimmest possible passport cover for a jacket or bag pocket → the Smart Passport Holder's 8mm profile is less than half Satechi's 17mm thickness.
- Specifically want RFID-blocking built into the cover → Satechi states this feature explicitly; Seekerity's listing doesn't claim it.
- Want your passport cover to attach to your iPhone with MagSafe → that's a Satechi-only feature here, though worth weighing against the extra bulk of a phone with a passport cover attached.
- Carry four or more cards while travelling → Satechi's extra card slot may matter; the Smart Passport Holder is built around three cards plus cash.
- Want a stated, specific battery-life figure to plan a trip around → Satechi publishes "up to five months"; Seekerity doesn't publish an equivalent number for this product.
- Shopping from the EU and want to compare like-for-like pricing → Seekerity's €59.95 is lower than the €71.58 incl. VAT we found Satechi's cover listed for at an EU retailer, though prices vary.
- Already use other Seekerity Find My gear → the Smart Passport Holder pairs naturally alongside the Smart Lock or Travel Essentials Kit in the same account and the same travel setup.
- Want a stated warranty length before buying → Satechi publishes a 2-year limited warranty for this product; Seekerity's product page doesn't state a product-specific warranty term beyond the store's general returns policy.
Things worth checking before buying either passport cover
- Do you actually need RFID blocking? It's a real, stated difference in Satechi's favour — decide how much that matters to you given that modern e-passports already include their own anti-skimming protections.
- Would you really use MagSafe on a passport cover? It's a genuine Satechi feature, but attaching a thicker passport cover to your phone means carrying a bulkier device, not a slimmer one.
- How many cards do you actually carry when travelling? Three plus cash versus four plus a boarding pass is a small but real difference if you're close to either limit.
- Does published battery life matter to you, or is "top it up before a trip" good enough? Satechi states a number; Seekerity doesn't, for this specific product.
- Check the actual price in your own country. US MSRP, EU retail pricing including VAT, and Seekerity's flat EU price can all differ meaningfully — confirm current pricing before assuming either number quoted here still holds.
- Is your phone an iPhone? Both covers need Apple's Find My network and an Apple ID — neither tracks from an Android phone.
- How thick a cover can you actually live with? If it needs to fit a jacket's inside pocket alongside other things, 8mm and 17mm are a meaningfully different fit, not a marginal one.
- Would you actually attach a passport cover to your phone day to day? MagSafe is a real feature on Satechi's side, but it only pays off if you'd genuinely carry your phone that way rather than keeping the cover separate in a bag.
- Which colour is actually in stock in your country? Both covers currently show Black as their confirmed EU colour — don't assume a different colour is available without checking the live listing first.
This comparison is based on publicly available specifications and pricing from Satechi and Seekerity at the time of writing, along with one independent review of the Satechi FindAll Passport Cover. Prices, colours and features can change — always check the current listing before buying.
Frequently asked questions
Does the Satechi FindAll Passport Cover use Apple Find My?
Yes. Unlike Tile or Chipolo, Satechi's cover is a genuine Apple Find My accessory, so it appears in the same Find My app as an iPhone, AirPods or the Smart Passport Holder.
Which passport cover is thinner?
The Smart Passport Holder, at 8mm, compared with Satechi's published 17mm thickness — less than half as thick.
Does the Smart Passport Holder have RFID blocking?
Seekerity's product listing doesn't state RFID blocking as a feature. Satechi's FindAll Passport Cover does include stated RFID blocking.
Can the Satechi passport cover attach to my iPhone with MagSafe?
Yes, Satechi states MagSafe compatibility. The Smart Passport Holder doesn't list MagSafe attachment as a feature.
How many cards does each cover hold?
The Smart Passport Holder holds three cards plus cash alongside the passport and boarding pass. Satechi's cover holds four cards plus a boarding pass alongside the passport.
Which has a longer battery life?
Satechi states up to five months per charge from its 150mAh battery. Seekerity publishes a 100mAh battery capacity for the Smart Passport Holder but doesn't state an equivalent standby duration.
Do both covers charge the same way?
Yes, both charge wirelessly with no cable port — Satechi specifies Qi/Qi2 compatibility, while Seekerity lists wireless charging without specifying the exact standard.
Does either cover have Precision Finding like an AirTag?
No. Neither includes Apple's U1/U2 Ultra Wideband chip. Both rely on the last-known-location map and a sound you can trigger from Find My.
Which is cheaper?
The Smart Passport Holder is €59.95. Satechi's US list price is $59.99, but at one EU retailer we checked, it listed for €71.58 including VAT — higher than Seekerity's EU price at that retailer's pricing.
What material is each cover made from?
Satechi describes its cover as vegan leather; Seekerity lists the Smart Passport Holder's material as PU. These are generally the same broad category of synthetic material, described with different marketing terms.
Does the Satechi cover work with Android phones?
No. Like the Smart Passport Holder, it depends on Apple's Find My network and an Apple ID, so it doesn't track from an Android phone.
What colours are available?
The Smart Passport Holder is currently available in Black. Satechi's cover is listed in Black at the EU retailer we checked, with additional colours such as Desert Rose reported in the US market.
Is Satechi's cover hard to get cards in and out of?
One independent review noted the vegan-leather card slots felt stiff enough on a review unit to make inserting and removing cards "a bit of a struggle," with the expectation it would ease with use over time. That's a single review's experience, not a universal guarantee.
Does either cover include a warranty?
Satechi states a 2-year limited warranty for the FindAll Passport Cover. Seekerity doesn't publish specific warranty terms for the Smart Passport Holder beyond its standard store returns policy.
Can someone use either cover to secretly track me?
Both rely on Apple's Find My network, which includes Unwanted Tracking Alerts for every Find My accessory: if an unfamiliar one appears to be travelling with you, your iPhone proactively alerts you, and a free Android app extends similar detection to Android phones.


